Getting confused about marijuana laws rules could lead to severe penalties. California has legalized recreational marijuana use, yet it still has restrictions.
Is there an age restriction on marijuana use?
To buy, possess or use marijuana, you need to be at least 21 years old.
What if I am under 21 years old?
If you are under 21, then marijuana is illegal for you. Anyone over 21 who gives or sells it to you could face charges.
How much marijuana can I have on me?
The limit is 28.5 grams or 8 ounces of marijuana concentrate.
What if I have more than 8 ounces of marijuana on me?
If the polices search you and find you have more than the allowed amount, you could face criminal charges. It could result in fines and prison time.
Can I smoke marijuana anywhere I like?
Using marijuana or even pulling out a packet of marijuana could get you into trouble if you do it in the wrong place. You are not allowed to use marijuana in public places, in areas where tobacco smoke is banned or within 1,000 feet of a school.
What if I live within 1,000 feet of a school?
You can only use marijuana in a private residence within 1,000 feet of a school if no one can tell you are doing so. So sitting on your front porch would not be acceptable.
Can I smoke marijuana in my car?
Using marijuana in a car is not allowed by the driver or passengers. Remember that driving while under the influence of drugs would incur additional charges.
Am I allowed to go in my car to buy marijuana?
If you transport marijuana in your car, it must be in a sealed container and out of the driver’s reach.
Violating California’s marijuana laws could do irreparable harm to your chances of living in the U.S. if you do not yet have citizenship. If you face charges, it is essential to understand your defense options.